How JustAnswer Works:

  • Ask an Expert
    Experts are full of valuable knowledge and are ready to help with any question. Credentials confirmed by a Fortune 500 verification firm.
  • Get a Professional Answer
    Via email, text message, or notification as you wait on our site.
    Ask follow up questions if you need to.
  • 100% Satisfaction Guarantee
    Rate the answer you receive.

Ask propertylawyer Your Own Question

propertylawyer
propertylawyer, Solicitor
Category: Property Law
Satisfied Customers: 270
Experience:  Property solicitor with expertise in commercial and residential property transactions.
94563951
Type Your Property Law Question Here...
propertylawyer is online now

I moved into a shared house (HMO) in May, the agent told me

Resolved Question:

I moved into a shared house (HMO) in May, the agent told me it will be long term although I signed an initial 4 month contract (a licence not AST). The agent failed to tell me he correct amount of people in the house and also that the house was on the market. We are now harassed by constant viewings taking place, they said the viewing will be taking place at 16:00 on viewing days and this has changed to 10:00 in the morning which means I don't get any sleep when working night shift. Can I have them cancel the contract and return my deposit and cover my costs of agency fee and removal van?
Submitted: 11 months ago.
Category: Property Law
Expert:  propertylawyer replied 11 months ago.

Hi Från

Thanks for your question.

Do you have a copy of the agreement you signed which you can attach to a reply. If I know the terms of the agreement I can better advise.

Kind regards

Paul

Customer: replied 11 months ago.
Hi PaulI am unable to add the PDF file for the tenancy agreement here.
Is there an email address I can send it to?RegardsFrancois
Expert:  propertylawyer replied 11 months ago.

Hi Francois

Sadly it is against the rules of the site to give out email addresses etc.

Have you tried attaching the pdf using the paperclip icon?

Customer: replied 11 months ago.
Hi PaulI could not add the PDF.
I have taken pictures and added them.Hope you are able to view.RegardsFrancois
Expert:  propertylawyer replied 11 months ago.

Hi Francois

Thanks for uploading photos of the agreement.

Clause 7A deals with visits/inspection. The landlord / agent can visit at anytime without notice but not in respect of your room when 24 hours notice must be given. Inspection must be at a reasonable time. Have you informed the landlord that particular times are inconvenient due to your working hours.? It would be unreasonable to expect entry if you are sleeping. What sort of notice does the landlord / agent give you?

With regard to termination, you can only give notice at the end of the 4 month minimum period. The notice period is 4 weeks and you serve notice by email. The notice to terminate is only valid when acknowledged by the landlord/agent.

A house in multiple occupation requires a licence from the council. It will regulate how many people are legally permitted to live in the property. If you have concerns as to the number of people residing at the property you can check this with the council. If you find out from the council how many people are legally permitted to live in the property you may be able to use this as a means of terminating the agreement, I.e that you have discovered that the landlord is in breach of its hmo licence and you want to move, deposit refunded, agent fee refunded and removal costs covered. If not, you shall report the overletting to the council. You will need to find out that the landlord is in breach of the hmo licence.

There is no guarantee that you can successfully negotiate a termination of the contract on this ground. Securing removal costs is remote and the landlord may not agree even if it agrees to terminate and refund the deposit and agency fee.

I do not think the regular visits by prospective buyers is sufficient to argue termination with refund of deposit and agent fee plus removal costs covered.

I hope this helps.

Do let me know if I can assist further.

Kind regards

Paul

Customer: replied 11 months ago.
Hi PaulI was just concerned about the fact that the agent did not stipple the facts when I first came to view the room and it appears that there is no legislation in place to prevent this practice.
I have read the document and understand what it says like you explained.
I suppose in this regard I have no option than to put up till end of contract.
Hopefully someone will pursue this in order to get legislation in place. I will speak with my local councillor.
Thanks for your help.
Regards
Expert:  propertylawyer replied 11 months ago.

Hi Francois

There are regulations regarding houses in multiple occupation. The house must be licenced and the landlord cannot breach the terms of that licence. Overletting, I.e allowing more people to live there than allowed would breach the licence. Hence being able to use the overletting argument to potentially move early plus potentially getrefunds and removal costs.

As to the contract, it is not covered by any legislation for secured tenancies, it is merely a licence to occupy, commonly used by landlords with houses in multiple occupation, gives flexibility without burden of legal framework, but that is not good news for a tenant.

I hope I have been helpful.

Please can I ask you to accept my answer. Thanks.

Good luck

propertylawyer, Solicitor
Category: Property Law
Satisfied Customers: 270
Experience: Property solicitor with expertise in commercial and residential property transactions.
propertylawyer and other Property Law Specialists are ready to help you

What Customers are Saying:

 
 
 
  • Thank you so much for your help. Your answers were really useful and came back so quickly. Great! Maggie
< Previous | Next >
  • Thank you so much for your help. Your answers were really useful and came back so quickly. Great! Maggie
  • A quick response, a succinct and helpful answer in simple English. I believe I can now confront the counter party with confidence -- worth the 30 bucks! Rick
  • Wonderful service, prompt, efficient, and accurate. Couldn't have asked for more. I cannot thank you enough for your help. Mary C.
  • This expert is wonderful. They truly know what they are talking about, and they actually care about you. They really helped put my nerves at ease. Thank you so much!!!! Alex
  • Thank you for all your help. It is nice to know that this service is here for people like myself, who need answers fast and are not sure who to consult. GP
  • I couldn't be more satisfied! This is the site I will always come to when I need a second opinion. Justin
  • Just let me say that this encounter has been entirely professional and most helpful. I liked that I could ask additional questions and get answered in a very short turn around. Esther
 
 
 

Meet The Experts:

 
 
 
  • Remus2004

    Remus2004

    Barrister

    Satisfied Customers:

    2446
    Over 5 years in practice.
< Previous | Next >
  • http://ww2.justanswer.co.uk/uploads/EM/emus/2015-7-7_192327_bigstockportraitofconfidentfemale.64x64.jpg Remus2004's Avatar

    Remus2004

    Barrister

    Satisfied Customers:

    2446
    Over 5 years in practice.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.co.uk/uploads/TG/TGraham12/2012-7-17_81212_bigstockBusinessHandshake508163.64x64.jpg Thomas's Avatar

    Thomas

    Solicitor

    Satisfied Customers:

    453
    UK solicitor holding an England and Wales practising Certificate.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.co.uk/uploads/KA/Kasare/kasare.64x64.jpg Kasare's Avatar

    Kasare

    Solicitor

    Satisfied Customers:

    42
    Solicitor, 10 yrs plus experience in civil litigation, employment and family law.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.co.uk/uploads/OS/osh/2015-7-7_19268_gettyimagesb.64x64.jpg Joshua's Avatar

    Joshua

    Lawyer

    Satisfied Customers:

    4708
    LL.B (Hons), Higher Prof. Dip. Law & Practice
  • http://ww2.justanswer.co.uk/uploads/AS/Aston Lawyer/2013-10-8_19517_JAPROFILEPICTURE.64x64.jpg Aston Lawyer's Avatar

    Aston Lawyer

    Solicitor

    Satisfied Customers:

    1907
    LLB(HONS) 23 years of experience in dealing with Conveyancing and Property Law
  • http://ww2.justanswer.co.uk/uploads/CH/chathamchamber/2011-4-24_191833_1.64x64.jpg chatham-chamber's Avatar

    chatham-chamber

    Solicitor

    Satisfied Customers:

    846
    LL.B, Pg.Dip, LL.M, M.B.A (Pending), Solicitor-Advocate. UK Practising Certificate issued by SRA., DIFC Courts Registered (Dubai)
  • http://ww2.justanswer.co.uk/uploads/CL/clairep80/2013-8-25_191218_dreamstimexs267279822nd.64x64.jpg Clare's Avatar

    Clare

    Solicitor

    Satisfied Customers:

    308
    I have been a solicitor in High Street Practise since 1985 with a wide general experience.
 
 
 

Related Property Law Questions