How JustAnswer Works:

  • Ask an Expert
    Experts are full of valuable knowledge and are ready to help with any question. Credentials confirmed by a Fortune 500 verification firm.
  • Get a Professional Answer
    Via email, text message, or notification as you wait on our site.
    Ask follow up questions if you need to.
  • 100% Satisfaction Guarantee
    Rate the answer you receive.

Ask JGM Your Own Question

JGM
JGM, Solicitor
Category: Scots Law
Satisfied Customers: 10906
Experience:  30 years as a practising solicitor.
31090051
Type Your Scots Law Question Here...
JGM is online now

We sold a property (byre) to mr & mrs h in 2001. We own a hotel

Resolved Question:

We sold a property (byre) to mr & mrs h in 2001. We own a hotel which is adjacent to byre, when we developed byre it was part of the hotel land and we had shared water supply. One of the conditions of sale was for mr & mrs h to arrange and pay for connection to mains water supply. Until such time a verbal agreement was arranged for mr & mrs h to pay us (hotel) £20 per month. Our supply is metered and pays commercial rates - more expensive than domestic rates.
Nothing happened, and in 2005 at request of mr & mrs h we installed (at our expense) a dedicated water meter for byre to measure water usage. mr and mrs h said they did not have funds to connect, no payments of £20 per month were ever received since 2001.
We didn't pursue this for whatever reason, in 2011 mr & mrs h moved away and rented property, they did not tell new tenants that supply was shared from hotel. In 2014 our water bill was over £10k, we reviewed water usage in hotel, there was a leak, but also we told tenants of byre that shared supply existed. We told mr & mrs h that private supply needed to be organised, plus arrears to be paid. All amicable at this time, mr & mrs h found that they had been paying domestic water rates since 2008 and contacted local council for refund. This took a long time and I contacted council to verify shared supply, mr and mrs h were upset that I had contacted council and referred the matter to their solicitor. We had a letter from them in July stating that the refund of £1400 from council would not be paid to us unless we agreed to write off rest of monies owed (approx. £2000). Very aggressive letter, we were friends with mr and mrs h until solicitors letter. We do not want to cut off supply to byre as tenants are young family with a toddler. Also new tenants are paying us £30 per month for water usage, however no effort has been made to connect byre supply to mains. If we accept council refund of £1400 would we be accepting terms that their solicitor has set out in letter?
Submitted: 1 year ago.
Category: Scots Law
Expert:  JGM replied 1 year ago.
Thank you for your question.
Was the obligation on Mr and Mrs H to connect to the public supply embodied in the title deed you signed in their favour?
Customer: replied 1 year ago.

not sure, how do we find this out?

Expert:  JGM replied 1 year ago.
It would normally be put into the title deed that you granted to them at the time of the sale.
Customer: replied 1 year ago.

we have contacted the solicitor who completed the sale for us and they are looking into it, if this was detailed in the title deeds, where does this leave us?

Expert:  JGM replied 1 year ago.
It means that they would be in breach of the title conditions and that would give you leverage in dealing with them. In answer to your original question, were you to accept the £1400 on offer that would mean that you could not claim any further monies from them.
As a general observation, and based on a case I dealt with personally for a client, recently, the solution was to have (in this case) the byre separately metered so that one reading could be taken from the other, ie, the hotel less the byre so that the hotel consumption was accurate. The byre would just continue to pay domestic water rates as before.
JGM, Solicitor
Category: Scots Law
Satisfied Customers: 10906
Experience: 30 years as a practising solicitor.
JGM and other Scots Law Specialists are ready to help you

What Customers are Saying:

 
 
 
  • Thank you so much for your help. Your answers were really useful and came back so quickly. Great! Maggie
< Previous | Next >
  • Thank you so much for your help. Your answers were really useful and came back so quickly. Great! Maggie
  • A quick response, a succinct and helpful answer in simple English. I believe I can now confront the counter party with confidence -- worth the 30 bucks! Rick
  • Wonderful service, prompt, efficient, and accurate. Couldn't have asked for more. I cannot thank you enough for your help. Mary C.
  • This expert is wonderful. They truly know what they are talking about, and they actually care about you. They really helped put my nerves at ease. Thank you so much!!!! Alex
  • Thank you for all your help. It is nice to know that this service is here for people like myself, who need answers fast and are not sure who to consult. GP
  • I couldn't be more satisfied! This is the site I will always come to when I need a second opinion. Justin
  • Just let me say that this encounter has been entirely professional and most helpful. I liked that I could ask additional questions and get answered in a very short turn around. Esther
 
 
 

Meet The Experts:

 
 
 
  • Ben Jones

    Ben Jones

    UK Lawyer

    Satisfied Customers:

    4
    Qualified Solicitor - Please start your question with 'For Ben Jones'
< Previous | Next >
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/BE/benjones/2015-12-1_0437_ennew.64x64.jpg Ben Jones's Avatar

    Ben Jones

    UK Lawyer

    Satisfied Customers:

    4
    Qualified Solicitor - Please start your question with 'For Ben Jones'
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/MS/MsAM/2012-6-9_16426_anna.64x64.jpeg Anna's Avatar

    Anna

    Teacher, writer, biologist

    Satisfied Customers:

    270
    Great research skills, variety of work experiences, teaching experience.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/PD/pdheslin/2012-6-6_232056_pambig.64x64.jpg pdheslin's Avatar

    pdheslin

    Consultant

    Satisfied Customers:

    51
    20+ years of internet site creation and search engine optimization. Dozens of search tools at my disposal.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/BL/blueflowers1063/2013-10-10_35834_KimHolidays1.64x64.jpg Kim D.'s Avatar

    Kim D.

    Consultant

    Satisfied Customers:

    27
    Researcher 20+yrs in small and large institutions
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/NU/nursescare4u/2013-3-31_03429_JApic.64x64.jpg findinganswers's Avatar

    findinganswers

    Internet Researcher

    Satisfied Customers:

    22
    Internet Researcher, Nurse for over 17 years, and can find answers for you!
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/PR/ProMBA/2012-6-7_154051_beach.64x64.jpg ProMBA's Avatar

    ProMBA

    Internet Researcher

    Satisfied Customers:

    3
    I'm an owner of three businesses, with both undergraduate and graduate business degrees from top tier universities.