How JustAnswer Works:

  • Ask an Expert
    Experts are full of valuable knowledge and are ready to help with any question. Credentials confirmed by a Fortune 500 verification firm.
  • Get a Professional Answer
    Via email, text message, or notification as you wait on our site.
    Ask follow up questions if you need to.
  • 100% Satisfaction Guarantee
    Rate the answer you receive.

Ask JGM Your Own Question

JGM
JGM, Solicitor
Category: Scots Law
Satisfied Customers: 10646
Experience:  30 years as a practising solicitor.
31090051
Type Your Scots Law Question Here...
JGM is online now

HelloOn 20 October 2015 I booked wife and I and son

Resolved Question:

Hello
On 20 October 2015 I booked for my wife and I and son and daughter in law to stay at a hotel in Scotland for 4 nights from 31 December 2015 to 3 January 2016. The price of £608 included a Gala Dinner on the evening of 31 December 2015.
The accommodation was meant for just two people but the hotel agreed that me son and daughter in law could occupy the accommodation as there was a sofa bed.
One week later my son announced that they couldn't come as my daughter in law had just decided to leave her employment and they could no longer afford to come.
I contacted the hotel to ask if we could get a refund.
Despite several emails and telephone calls they are refusing not only to grant us a refund but will not agree to even a part refund for instance for the cost of the Gala Dinner.
Their reasons stated are that ours was the last accommodation available for that period and that subsequent to our booking they marked their website as having no availability for the period. They also stated that the booking slip stated that "Reservation dates can be changed up to a month prior to arrival date at a charge of £15 thereafter reservations cannot be changed or transferred. Please note this reservation is non- refundable."
This booking slip was only emailed to us after we had paid for the accommodation and we were not made aware of the above statement previously.
Do you think that we have any case for a refund or even a part refund. The hotel are refusing point blank unless they can re-book the room and I have no confidence that they will honour that statement even if they do get a further booking.
Best regards,
Alan Wilkinson
Submitted: 1 year ago.
Category: Scots Law
Expert:  JGM replied 1 year ago.
Thank you for your question.
I'm afraid I don't think you have a case for a refund or a part refund. The reason is that, despite the reasons given, as a matter of contract law, if you enter into a contract, which you have done, unless the contract says otherwise there is no entitlement which allows you to withdraw from the contract in the absence of the consent of the other party.
If that was the case then anyone could walk away from a contract and there would be no point in having a contract at all. So whether they are full or empty or whether they can rebook the room or not, you have no case for any sort of refund as you were offered the hotel and meal and accepted that offer by making the booking.
I hope this helps. Please leave a positive response so that I am credited for my time.
JGM, Solicitor
Category: Scots Law
Satisfied Customers: 10646
Experience: 30 years as a practising solicitor.
JGM and 2 other Scots Law Specialists are ready to help you

What Customers are Saying:

 
 
 
  • Thank you so much for your help. Your answers were really useful and came back so quickly. Great! Maggie
< Previous | Next >
  • Thank you so much for your help. Your answers were really useful and came back so quickly. Great! Maggie
  • A quick response, a succinct and helpful answer in simple English. I believe I can now confront the counter party with confidence -- worth the 30 bucks! Rick
  • Wonderful service, prompt, efficient, and accurate. Couldn't have asked for more. I cannot thank you enough for your help. Mary C.
  • This expert is wonderful. They truly know what they are talking about, and they actually care about you. They really helped put my nerves at ease. Thank you so much!!!! Alex
  • Thank you for all your help. It is nice to know that this service is here for people like myself, who need answers fast and are not sure who to consult. GP
  • I couldn't be more satisfied! This is the site I will always come to when I need a second opinion. Justin
  • Just let me say that this encounter has been entirely professional and most helpful. I liked that I could ask additional questions and get answered in a very short turn around. Esther
 
 
 

Meet The Experts:

 
 
 
  • Ben Jones

    Ben Jones

    UK Lawyer

    Satisfied Customers:

    4
    Qualified Solicitor - Please start your question with 'For Ben Jones'
< Previous | Next >
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/BE/benjones/2015-12-1_0437_ennew.64x64.jpg Ben Jones's Avatar

    Ben Jones

    UK Lawyer

    Satisfied Customers:

    4
    Qualified Solicitor - Please start your question with 'For Ben Jones'
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/MS/MsAM/2012-6-9_16426_anna.64x64.jpeg Anna's Avatar

    Anna

    Teacher, writer, biologist

    Satisfied Customers:

    270
    Great research skills, variety of work experiences, teaching experience.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/PD/pdheslin/2012-6-6_232056_pambig.64x64.jpg pdheslin's Avatar

    pdheslin

    Consultant

    Satisfied Customers:

    51
    20+ years of internet site creation and search engine optimization. Dozens of search tools at my disposal.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/BL/blueflowers1063/2013-10-10_35834_KimHolidays1.64x64.jpg Kim D.'s Avatar

    Kim D.

    Consultant

    Satisfied Customers:

    27
    Researcher 20+yrs in small and large institutions
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/NU/nursescare4u/2013-3-31_03429_JApic.64x64.jpg findinganswers's Avatar

    findinganswers

    Internet Researcher

    Satisfied Customers:

    22
    Internet Researcher, Nurse for over 17 years, and can find answers for you!
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/PR/ProMBA/2012-6-7_154051_beach.64x64.jpg ProMBA's Avatar

    ProMBA

    Internet Researcher

    Satisfied Customers:

    3
    I'm an owner of three businesses, with both undergraduate and graduate business degrees from top tier universities.