How JustAnswer Works:

  • Ask an Expert
    Experts are full of valuable knowledge and are ready to help with any question. Credentials confirmed by a Fortune 500 verification firm.
  • Get a Professional Answer
    Via email, text message, or notification as you wait on our site.
    Ask follow up questions if you need to.
  • 100% Satisfaction Guarantee
    Rate the answer you receive.

Ask TaxRobin Your Own Question

TaxRobin
TaxRobin, Tax Consultant
Category: Tax
Satisfied Customers: 13319
Experience:  International tax
14155347
Type Your Tax Question Here...
TaxRobin is online now

I have a VAT inspection appointment letter and am slightly

Customer Question

I have a VAT inspection appointment letter and am slightly concerned that it states in the subject line along with Date - Our Ref - VAT Number

CASE REFERENCE

On previous VAT inspection letters confirming the date of a visit it only say's REFERENCE
Submitted: 2 years ago.
Category: Tax
Expert:  TaxRobin replied 2 years ago.
Hello,
A VAT inspection is always at first a little unnerving. As you have experienced past inspections you know that they are not always negative.
The change in the wording is not a reason for concern.
It does not mean you are under greater scrutiny than previous inspections.
It is still simply a tracking number that assigns your inspection to a specific inspection officer.
I sincerely hope you do not experience extra concern with this word change or addition in the letter.
You stated you had an additional question about Corporation Tax and penalties. Please use the following url to read over that information prior to posting your question.

http://www.hmrc.gov.uk/ct/change/problems/penalties.htm
Customer: replied 2 years ago.

What I am looking for is confirmation that the change from "reference" to "case reference" is a a standard change in phrasing from HMRC


 


As this is different from previous letters that have been received - it sounds ominous and I would like to know for certain that it is now standard procedure

Expert:  TaxRobin replied 2 years ago.
Hello,
It is standard. The case reference number is supposed to assist HMRC in tracking inter-office mail.
It should not appear ominous at all.
This was all implemented for their scanning procedures.

What Customers are Saying:

 
 
 
  • Wonderful service, prompt, efficient, and accurate. Couldn't have asked for more. I cannot thank you enough for your help. Mary C.
< Previous | Next >
  • Wonderful service, prompt, efficient, and accurate. Couldn't have asked for more. I cannot thank you enough for your help. Mary C.
  • This expert is wonderful. They truly know what they are talking about, and they actually care about you. They really helped put my nerves at ease. Thank you so much!!!! Alex
  • Thank you for all your help. It is nice to know that this service is here for people like myself, who need answers fast and are not sure who to consult. GP
  • I couldn't be more satisfied! This is the site I will always come to when I need a second opinion. Justin
  • Just let me say that this encounter has been entirely professional and most helpful. I liked that I could ask additional questions and get answered in a very short turn around. Esther
  • Wonderful service, prompt, efficient, and accurate. Couldn't have asked for more. I cannot thank you enough for your help. Mary C.
  • This expert is wonderful. They truly know what they are talking about, and they actually care about you. They really helped put my nerves at ease. Thank you so much!!!! Alex
 
 
 

Meet The Experts:

 
 
 
  • Sam

    Sam

    Accountant

    Satisfied Customers:

    6894
    26 HMRC expertise, PAYE, Self Assessment ,Residency, Rental Income, Capital Gains, CIS ask for Sam Tax
< Last | Next >
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/TA/Tax Expert/2013-8-21_231010_sam.64x64.jpg Sam's Avatar

    Sam

    Accountant

    Satisfied Customers:

    6894
    26 HMRC expertise, PAYE, Self Assessment ,Residency, Rental Income, Capital Gains, CIS ask for Sam Tax
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/BI/bigduckontax/2013-8-12_222058_1.64x64.jpg bigduckontax's Avatar

    bigduckontax

    Accountant

    Satisfied Customers:

    1772
    FCCA FCMA CGMA ACIS
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/TA/TaxRobin/2013-8-28_16186_femalebusinessprofessionalbinderhand11038485.64x64.jpg TaxRobin's Avatar

    TaxRobin

    Tax Consultant

    Satisfied Customers:

    464
    International tax
  • /img/opt/shirt.png taxadvisor.uk's Avatar

    taxadvisor.uk

    Chartered Certified Accountant

    Satisfied Customers:

    2596
    FCCA - over 35 years experience as a qualified accountant (UK based Practitioner)
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/MS/MsAM/2012-6-9_16426_anna.64x64.jpeg Anna's Avatar

    Anna

    Teacher, writer, biologist

    Satisfied Customers:

    268
    Great research skills, variety of work experiences, teaching experience.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/PD/pdheslin/2012-6-6_232056_pambig.64x64.jpg pdheslin's Avatar

    pdheslin

    Consultant

    Satisfied Customers:

    51
    20+ years of internet site creation and search engine optimization. Dozens of search tools at my disposal.
 
 
 

Related Tax Questions