How JustAnswer Works:

  • Ask an Expert
    Experts are full of valuable knowledge and are ready to help with any question. Credentials confirmed by a Fortune 500 verification firm.
  • Get a Professional Answer
    Via email, text message, or notification as you wait on our site.
    Ask follow up questions if you need to.
  • 100% Satisfaction Guarantee
    Rate the answer you receive.

Ask bigduckontax Your Own Question

bigduckontax
bigduckontax, Accountant
Category: Tax
Satisfied Customers: 3613
Experience:  FCCA FCMA CGMA ACIS
75394688
Type Your Tax Question Here...
bigduckontax is online now

Hi, If I set up a nightclub/restaurant review website, what

Customer Question

Hi,
If I set up a nightclub/restaurant review website, what expenses could I put through?
I have experience in building up online subscribers, and would look to make money from online advertising and money back from venues.
Would I be able to put expenses incurred when out in these venues to then review them?
Alan
Submitted: 2 years ago.
Category: Tax
Expert:  bigduckontax replied 2 years ago.
Hello Alan, I'm Keith and happy to help you with your question.
You may offset expenses wholly and necessarily incurred in the preparation of your reviews. You would have to be careful as to the exact detail of those claimed. It is very doubtful if, on investigation, HMRC discover that over expensive food and drink bills are included, whether they would be allowed in toto. The key words are 'wholly and necessarily incurred.' It might be adviseable to run your ideas across your tax office for guidance as to what they would consider reasonable.
I do hope that I have pointed you in the right direction, you need a definition of 'wholly and necessarily' in this rather special case.
Customer: replied 2 years ago.

Hi Keith,

I am thinking along lines of www.bestclubsin.com

Revenue would hopefully come online advertising and money from clubs.

There seems very little info online.

Do you think if reviewing a nightclub it would be valid to take 3-4 friends, and say put through 2-3 drinks?

I'm not sure how you could give a valid review if did not buy some drinks?

And in a restaurant, would think you could take say one other person, and order a meal?

Where do you think could get more specialist advice if required?

Alan

Expert:  bigduckontax replied 2 years ago.

I suggest that HMRC would view such an expense, entertaining friends, with a very jaundiced eye! However, you clearly could not give a proper review without buying the odd drink or review a restaurant without taking a meal. After all, the entertainment of employees is ab allowable expense whilst that of UK customer is not as opposed to overseas ones where the expenditure is allowable. Whether a companion would be appropriate is a moot point.

HMRC give some guidance in BIM 445031 as follows:

' There must be a direct link between the expenditure incurred and the payment received. It is not sufficient for entertaining expenditure to be a ‘normal’ cost of the trade, although see BIM45030for a discussion of the treatment of costs in relation to a service which is customary to a particular trade.'

This might provide the loophope for you expenses

As I told you, run it across your local HMRC inspector for an opinion. Your particular activity is highly specialised.

bigduckontax, Accountant
Category: Tax
Satisfied Customers: 3613
Experience: FCCA FCMA CGMA ACIS
bigduckontax and other Tax Specialists are ready to help you
Expert:  bigduckontax replied 2 years ago.
Thank you for your support.

What Customers are Saying:

 
 
 
  • Wonderful service, prompt, efficient, and accurate. Couldn't have asked for more. I cannot thank you enough for your help. Mary C.
< Previous | Next >
  • Wonderful service, prompt, efficient, and accurate. Couldn't have asked for more. I cannot thank you enough for your help. Mary C.
  • This expert is wonderful. They truly know what they are talking about, and they actually care about you. They really helped put my nerves at ease. Thank you so much!!!! Alex
  • Thank you for all your help. It is nice to know that this service is here for people like myself, who need answers fast and are not sure who to consult. GP
  • I couldn't be more satisfied! This is the site I will always come to when I need a second opinion. Justin
  • Just let me say that this encounter has been entirely professional and most helpful. I liked that I could ask additional questions and get answered in a very short turn around. Esther
  • Wonderful service, prompt, efficient, and accurate. Couldn't have asked for more. I cannot thank you enough for your help. Mary C.
  • This expert is wonderful. They truly know what they are talking about, and they actually care about you. They really helped put my nerves at ease. Thank you so much!!!! Alex
 
 
 

Meet The Experts:

 
 
 
  • Sam

    Sam

    Accountant

    Satisfied Customers:

    7088
    26 HMRC expertise, PAYE, Self Assessment ,Residency, Rental Income, Capital Gains, CIS ask for Sam Tax
< Previous | Next >
  • http://ww2.justanswer.co.uk/uploads/TA/Tax Expert/2013-8-21_231010_sam.64x64.jpg Sam's Avatar

    Sam

    Accountant

    Satisfied Customers:

    7088
    26 HMRC expertise, PAYE, Self Assessment ,Residency, Rental Income, Capital Gains, CIS ask for Sam Tax
  • http://ww2.justanswer.co.uk/uploads/BI/bigduckontax/2013-8-12_222058_1.64x64.jpg bigduckontax's Avatar

    bigduckontax

    Accountant

    Satisfied Customers:

    2333
    FCCA FCMA CGMA ACIS
  • http://ww2.justanswer.co.uk/uploads/TA/TaxRobin/2013-8-28_16186_femalebusinessprofessionalbinderhand11038485.64x64.jpg TaxRobin's Avatar

    TaxRobin

    Tax Consultant

    Satisfied Customers:

    524
    International tax
  • /img/opt/shirt.png taxadvisor.uk's Avatar

    taxadvisor.uk

    Chartered Certified Accountant

    Satisfied Customers:

    2845
    FCCA - over 35 years experience as a qualified accountant (UK based Practitioner)
  • http://ww2.justanswer.co.uk/uploads/MS/MsAM/2012-6-9_16426_anna.64x64.jpeg Anna's Avatar

    Anna

    Teacher, writer, biologist

    Satisfied Customers:

    270
    Great research skills, variety of work experiences, teaching experience.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.co.uk/uploads/PD/pdheslin/2012-6-6_232056_pambig.64x64.jpg pdheslin's Avatar

    pdheslin

    Consultant

    Satisfied Customers:

    51
    20+ years of internet site creation and search engine optimization. Dozens of search tools at my disposal.
 
 
 

Related Tax Questions