How JustAnswer Works:

  • Ask an Expert
    Experts are full of valuable knowledge and are ready to help with any question. Credentials confirmed by a Fortune 500 verification firm.
  • Get a Professional Answer
    Via email, text message, or notification as you wait on our site.
    Ask follow up questions if you need to.
  • 100% Satisfaction Guarantee
    Rate the answer you receive.

Ask rakhi.v Your Own Question

rakhi.v
rakhi.v, Financial Advisor
Category: Tax
Satisfied Customers: 4479
Experience:  Attorney and Financial Expert. Have specialization in Financial Laws.Practice experience of over 13 years
43581946
Type Your Tax Question Here...
rakhi.v is online now

I would like your opinion on a lump sum payment received

Customer Question

Hello I would like your opinion on a lump sum payment received from a FURBS (Funded Unapproved Retirement Benefits Scheme). The scheme was funded between 2001 and 2003 and all contributions were declared on the P11d and taxed accordingly. I believe that the lump sum received on maturity of the fund is therefore tax free, but I would like your confirmation of this and any reference to the relevant legislation. Thank you.
Submitted: 6 months ago.
Category: Tax
Expert:  rakhi.v replied 6 months ago.
Dear Friend,Hello and welcome. Thank you for providing an opportunity to assist you. YES -- In most cases, it will be tax free. The position depends on when contributions were made. Benefits paid on retirement in respect of a fund arising from contributions paid before 6 April 2006 can still normally be paid as a tax-free lump sum. This is provided that some company contributions were taxed on the employee as a benefit-in-kind at the time they were made. For funds arising from contributions made after that time, the company will receive tax relief on the funds and the member will have to pay income tax on those funds as and when they are paid out to the member: there is no tax-free lump sum relating to contributions paid under the new regime. At the moment, contributions to a FURBS are subject to income tax and NIC, but with CT relief available to the employer; income and gains are taxed at standard trust rates; benefits can be paid out as a tax-free lump sum without limit (providing the scheme's rules permit). I am sure this would help.You may please leave a positive rating if this helps as this is the only way we are compensated for assisting you. Alternatively, you may revert back with a reply if you need further assistance or if I have missed out on any aspect of your question.Warm Regards,

What Customers are Saying:

 
 
 
  • Wonderful service, prompt, efficient, and accurate. Couldn't have asked for more. I cannot thank you enough for your help. Mary C.
< Previous | Next >
  • Wonderful service, prompt, efficient, and accurate. Couldn't have asked for more. I cannot thank you enough for your help. Mary C.
  • This expert is wonderful. They truly know what they are talking about, and they actually care about you. They really helped put my nerves at ease. Thank you so much!!!! Alex
  • Thank you for all your help. It is nice to know that this service is here for people like myself, who need answers fast and are not sure who to consult. GP
  • I couldn't be more satisfied! This is the site I will always come to when I need a second opinion. Justin
  • Just let me say that this encounter has been entirely professional and most helpful. I liked that I could ask additional questions and get answered in a very short turn around. Esther
  • Wonderful service, prompt, efficient, and accurate. Couldn't have asked for more. I cannot thank you enough for your help. Mary C.
  • This expert is wonderful. They truly know what they are talking about, and they actually care about you. They really helped put my nerves at ease. Thank you so much!!!! Alex
 
 
 

Meet The Experts:

 
 
 
  • Sam

    Sam

    Accountant

    Satisfied Customers:

    6894
    26 HMRC expertise, PAYE, Self Assessment ,Residency, Rental Income, Capital Gains, CIS ask for Sam Tax
< Last | Next >
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/TA/Tax Expert/2013-8-21_231010_sam.64x64.jpg Sam's Avatar

    Sam

    Accountant

    Satisfied Customers:

    6894
    26 HMRC expertise, PAYE, Self Assessment ,Residency, Rental Income, Capital Gains, CIS ask for Sam Tax
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/BI/bigduckontax/2013-8-12_222058_1.64x64.jpg bigduckontax's Avatar

    bigduckontax

    Accountant

    Satisfied Customers:

    1772
    FCCA FCMA CGMA ACIS
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/TA/TaxRobin/2013-8-28_16186_femalebusinessprofessionalbinderhand11038485.64x64.jpg TaxRobin's Avatar

    TaxRobin

    Tax Consultant

    Satisfied Customers:

    464
    International tax
  • /img/opt/shirt.png taxadvisor.uk's Avatar

    taxadvisor.uk

    Chartered Certified Accountant

    Satisfied Customers:

    2596
    FCCA - over 35 years experience as a qualified accountant (UK based Practitioner)
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/MS/MsAM/2012-6-9_16426_anna.64x64.jpeg Anna's Avatar

    Anna

    Teacher, writer, biologist

    Satisfied Customers:

    268
    Great research skills, variety of work experiences, teaching experience.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/PD/pdheslin/2012-6-6_232056_pambig.64x64.jpg pdheslin's Avatar

    pdheslin

    Consultant

    Satisfied Customers:

    51
    20+ years of internet site creation and search engine optimization. Dozens of search tools at my disposal.
 
 
 

Related Tax Questions