How JustAnswer Works:

  • Ask an Expert
    Experts are full of valuable knowledge and are ready to help with any question. Credentials confirmed by a Fortune 500 verification firm.
  • Get a Professional Answer
    Via email, text message, or notification as you wait on our site.
    Ask follow up questions if you need to.
  • 100% Satisfaction Guarantee
    Rate the answer you receive.

Ask Jo C. Your Own Question

Jo C.
Jo C., Barrister
Category: Traffic Law
Satisfied Customers: 69374
Experience:  Over 5 years in practice.
12826847
Type Your Traffic Law Question Here...
Jo C. is online now

Can an off duty police officer make a complaint to your employer

Customer Question

Can an off duty police officer make a complaint to your employer regarding a traffic offence you committed without making an official police complaint
Submitted: 3 years ago.
Category: Traffic Law
Expert:  Jo C. replied 3 years ago.
Thank you for your question. My name is Jo and I will try to help with this.

Sorry for the delay overnight

Can you explain a bit more a out what happened?
Customer: replied 3 years ago.

FOR JOMO1972


 


A complaint was made to my employer about my driving and the fact I crossed over a set of double white lines 2 foot before they ended to overtake a vehicle travelling at less than 35 mph in a 50 mph zone the complaint was made by an off duty PC who was allegedly following me in his own car the complaint was made via our call centre complaints dept no official complaint has been made regarding my driving

Expert:  Jo C. replied 3 years ago.
Thanks for the information.

I do completely see why you are aggrieved about this as he is clearly just a jobsworth but ultimately we are all hampered by the law.

I know this isn’t going to be the answer you want to hear, and it’s certainly not what I want to tell you. However, I wish to be completely honest with you, so I feel obligated to not give you false hope.

A police officer is free to make a report of this kind. He owes you no duty of confidentiality I'm afraid. Ultimately he is free to make disclosures to any person he thinks may be interested in this issue. There are some prohibitions upon what can be disclosed during the course of an actual criminal prosecution but you seem to be saying that a decision has been taken not to prosecute although that seems rather odd in the circumstances.

I'm sorry this isn't the answer you wanted but it is the position that you face and I have a duty to inform you truthfully.

Hope this helps. Please let me know if you need more information.

What Customers are Saying:

 
 
 
  • Thank you so much for your help. Your answers were really useful and came back so quickly. Great! Maggie
< Previous | Next >
  • Thank you so much for your help. Your answers were really useful and came back so quickly. Great! Maggie
  • A quick response, a succinct and helpful answer in simple English. I believe I can now confront the counter party with confidence -- worth the 30 bucks! Rick
  • Wonderful service, prompt, efficient, and accurate. Couldn't have asked for more. I cannot thank you enough for your help. Mary C.
  • This expert is wonderful. They truly know what they are talking about, and they actually care about you. They really helped put my nerves at ease. Thank you so much!!!! Alex
  • Thank you for all your help. It is nice to know that this service is here for people like myself, who need answers fast and are not sure who to consult. GP
  • I couldn't be more satisfied! This is the site I will always come to when I need a second opinion. Justin
  • Just let me say that this encounter has been entirely professional and most helpful. I liked that I could ask additional questions and get answered in a very short turn around. Esther
 
 
 

Meet The Experts:

 
 
 
  • Jo C.

    Jo C.

    Barrister

    Satisfied Customers:

    3044
    Over 5 years in practice.
< Last | Next >
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/EM/emus/2015-7-7_192327_bigstockportraitofconfidentfemale.64x64.jpg Jo C.'s Avatar

    Jo C.

    Barrister

    Satisfied Customers:

    3044
    Over 5 years in practice.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/JO/jojobi/2013-3-19_0265_maxlowryphoto.64x64.jpg Max Lowry's Avatar

    Max Lowry

    Solicitor

    Satisfied Customers:

    6
    LLB, 10 years post qualification experience
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/KA/Kasare/kasare.64x64.jpg Kasare's Avatar

    Kasare

    Solicitor

    Satisfied Customers:

    1
    Solicitor, 10 yrs plus experience in civil litigation, employment and family law.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/OS/osh/2015-7-7_19268_gettyimagesb.64x64.jpg Joshua's Avatar

    Joshua

    Lawyer

    Satisfied Customers:

    130
    LL.B (Hons), Higher Prof. Dip. Law & Practice
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/LI/li/2014-12-19_134845_lexughes.64x64.jpg Alice H's Avatar

    Alice H

    Solicitor/Partner

    Satisfied Customers:

    80
    Partner in national law firm
  • /img/opt/shirt.png LondonlawyerJ's Avatar

    LondonlawyerJ

    Advocate

    Satisfied Customers:

    12
    I am a solicitor with particular expertise in road traffic law.