How JustAnswer Works:

  • Ask an Expert
    Experts are full of valuable knowledge and are ready to help with any question. Credentials confirmed by a Fortune 500 verification firm.
  • Get a Professional Answer
    Via email, text message, or notification as you wait on our site.
    Ask follow up questions if you need to.
  • 100% Satisfaction Guarantee
    Rate the answer you receive.

Ask Alice H Your Own Question

Alice H
Alice H, Solicitor/Partner
Category: Traffic Law
Satisfied Customers: 2847
Experience:  Partner in national law firm
30932268
Type Your Traffic Law Question Here...
Alice H is online now

I want a second opinion on a previous question,can another

Customer Question

i want a second opinion on a previous question,can another solictor help me NOT jo c
Submitted: 1 year ago.
Category: Traffic Law
Customer: replied 1 year ago.
if i didnt report a car park minor bump to the owner because i didnt know who she was can i still get in trouble and if i saw her a few hours after the accident would that stop police from charging me/trying to charge me for failing to report a accident?as in if the car owner reported it to the police before i managed to speak to her and exchange details
Expert:  Alice H replied 1 year ago.
Did you stop immediately at the scene or leave your details on the windscreen perhaps?
Customer: replied 1 year ago.
no but i did manage to bump in to the car owner a few hours later and give my details and apologise to her
Expert:  Alice H replied 1 year ago.
That would not be a defence to fail to stop/report an accident.
The duty is on you the driver to stop and make reasonable enquiries to ascertain the owner of the other vehicle. If that person cannot be identified then you are required to report that incident to the police within 24 hours.
The mere coincidence of bumping into the other person and exchanging details is helpful but unlikely to be a defence if you are prosecuted.
Customer: replied 1 year ago.
but its been over a month ive had no letters or no summons or nip....
Expert:  Alice H replied 1 year ago.
You might not be prosecuted in that case.
But remember the time limit for a prosecution is 6 months from the date of the offence.
If no NIP was sent out within a couple of weeks then you might well not be prosecuted.
Customer: replied 1 year ago.
or is it because police take time investigating these incidents or maybe its not in the public intrest?
Expert:  Alice H replied 1 year ago.
The public interest aspect is not an issue unless an investigation is already underway. There could be a number of possibilities: 1. The matter was not reported to police or 2. The police have decided that no crime has been committed or 3. They have decided your coincidental meeting absolves you of the need to report the incident. Difficult to say exactly what the position is but usually you would have heard something after a month.
Customer: replied 1 year ago.
but the car owner reported it to the police BEFORE i spoke to her because she didnt know who i was and thought i tried to get away with hitting her car when infact i only live 4doors away from her (the same road) but she thought i wasnt from the area and she called the police,would the police have contacted the car owner after she reported the incident eg.to see if i had infact came forward and exchanged details with the car owner or will they just straight away carry out enquiries at my address or with my car insurer etc?
Customer: replied 1 year ago.
?

What Customers are Saying:

 
 
 
  • Thank you so much for your help. Your answers were really useful and came back so quickly. Great! Maggie
< Previous | Next >
  • Thank you so much for your help. Your answers were really useful and came back so quickly. Great! Maggie
  • A quick response, a succinct and helpful answer in simple English. I believe I can now confront the counter party with confidence -- worth the 30 bucks! Rick
  • Wonderful service, prompt, efficient, and accurate. Couldn't have asked for more. I cannot thank you enough for your help. Mary C.
  • This expert is wonderful. They truly know what they are talking about, and they actually care about you. They really helped put my nerves at ease. Thank you so much!!!! Alex
  • Thank you for all your help. It is nice to know that this service is here for people like myself, who need answers fast and are not sure who to consult. GP
  • I couldn't be more satisfied! This is the site I will always come to when I need a second opinion. Justin
  • Just let me say that this encounter has been entirely professional and most helpful. I liked that I could ask additional questions and get answered in a very short turn around. Esther
 
 
 

Meet The Experts:

 
 
 
  • Jo C.

    Jo C.

    Barrister

    Satisfied Customers:

    3044
    Over 5 years in practice.
< Last | Next >
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/EM/emus/2015-7-7_192327_bigstockportraitofconfidentfemale.64x64.jpg Jo C.'s Avatar

    Jo C.

    Barrister

    Satisfied Customers:

    3044
    Over 5 years in practice.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/JO/jojobi/2013-3-19_0265_maxlowryphoto.64x64.jpg Max Lowry's Avatar

    Max Lowry

    Solicitor

    Satisfied Customers:

    6
    LLB, 10 years post qualification experience
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/KA/Kasare/kasare.64x64.jpg Kasare's Avatar

    Kasare

    Solicitor

    Satisfied Customers:

    1
    Solicitor, 10 yrs plus experience in civil litigation, employment and family law.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/OS/osh/2015-7-7_19268_gettyimagesb.64x64.jpg Joshua's Avatar

    Joshua

    Lawyer

    Satisfied Customers:

    130
    LL.B (Hons), Higher Prof. Dip. Law & Practice
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/LI/li/2014-12-19_134845_lexughes.64x64.jpg Alice H's Avatar

    Alice H

    Solicitor/Partner

    Satisfied Customers:

    80
    Partner in national law firm
  • /img/opt/shirt.png LondonlawyerJ's Avatar

    LondonlawyerJ

    Advocate

    Satisfied Customers:

    12
    I am a solicitor with particular expertise in road traffic law.