How JustAnswer Works:

  • Ask an Expert
    Experts are full of valuable knowledge and are ready to help with any question. Credentials confirmed by a Fortune 500 verification firm.
  • Get a Professional Answer
    Via email, text message, or notification as you wait on our site.
    Ask follow up questions if you need to.
  • 100% Satisfaction Guarantee
    Rate the answer you receive.

Ask Aric Your Own Question

Aric
Aric, Technician
Category: TV
Satisfied Customers: 43439
Experience:  15+ years in the field. Owner of AV Installation, OEM and Repair company
24739752
Type Your TV Question Here...
Aric is online now

I have a Goodmans frreview + Digital TV Recorder and

Customer Question

Hi,
I have a Goodmans frreview + Digital TV Recorder and it is acting a bit funny, it only comes on on 1 channel, if I try to change a channel or even put the volume off, it goes off on standby.
Also nothing happens when I press the guide or library buttons. even when I press those buttons , it just turns itself off, until I press another button and then it comes back on, but only to the same channel all the time.
I do hope its not broken as I've got so many good programs saved !!!
Submitted: 1 year ago.
Category: TV
Expert:  Aric replied 1 year ago.
Hello, and sorry you're having problems. We are now connected on this website- which saves you money over having a Tech come to your home, and in many cases we can fix the problem you're having. How long have you owned the Goodman's box for and when did this problem occur? Also have you tried rebooting the box yet by disconnecting it from power for several minutes and then plugging it back in as a soft reset? If not, please try that up to three times and let me know what happens please. Feel free to reply back if you need more help, or want to reply back with more details. It does not cost you anything more to reply back once you've rated. Please do rate me positively (at least 3 STARS) and I will continue with you until this is sorted. The positive rating ensures I am credited for my work.
Aric, Technician
Category: TV
Satisfied Customers: 43439
Experience: 15+ years in the field. Owner of AV Installation, OEM and Repair company
Aric and 3 other TV Specialists are ready to help you
Customer: replied 1 year ago.
Hi Aric,
I have tried turning the recorder off and then on a couple of times but still doesn't work. But for a second the 'guide button ' did work, but off again.
Thanks
Menna
Expert:  Aric replied 1 year ago.
I'm sorry to hear that and can you please tell me how long you've owned the recorder for?
Customer: replied 1 year ago.
We have had it for about 3 years now
Expert:  Aric replied 1 year ago.
Okay, not sure if you actually unplugged the box from power or simply turned it off and on a few times as you indicated in your reply, but if you have not already- then please unplug the box for at least 5 minutes and plug it back in. If this does not work please let me know if you are using an HDMI cable between the Goodman's box and the TV, and if so, please replace that cable with a new one and let me know if you have the same problem.
Customer: replied 1 year ago.
Yes I did unplug it a few times. I haven't got a new cable here at the moment, but I'm going to take the recorder to the shop where I bought it and they say they will have a look at it for me without charge, so we'll see what they find, ok. Thanks
Expert:  Aric replied 1 year ago.
You're welcome and that sounds good. Let e know how you make out.
Customer: replied 1 year ago.
Yes, I will let you know.
Customer: replied 1 year ago.
Hi Aric,
Took the recorder to the shop but as i thought they said that nothing could be done with it, they tried a new lead but no luck. They might be able to save the recordings on it.
Thanks for your help.
Menna
P.S. could you please confirm for me that this is a one off payment I make to you now yes? I do not wish to carry on with 'justanswer' thank you.
Expert:  Aric replied 1 year ago.
I'm not privy in any way to billing, accounts, etc.- I'm an independent tech, not a site employee. You would need to direct those questions to customer service via the home page. I'm simply an AV technician.

What Customers are Saying:

 
 
 
  • My Expert answered my question promptly and he resolved the issue totally. This is a great service. I am so glad I found it I will definitely use the service again if needed. One Happy Customer
< Previous | Next >
  • My Expert answered my question promptly and he resolved the issue totally. This is a great service. I am so glad I found it I will definitely use the service again if needed. One Happy Customer
  • Wonderful service, prompt, efficient, and accurate. Couldn't have asked for more. I cannot thank you enough for your help. Mary C.
  • This expert is wonderful. They truly know what they are talking about, and they actually care about you. They really helped put my nerves at ease. Thank you so much!!!! Alex
  • Thank you for all your help. It is nice to know that this service is here for people like myself, who need answers fast and are not sure who to consult. GP
  • I couldn't be more satisfied! This is the site I will always come to when I need a second opinion. Justin
  • Just let me say that this encounter has been entirely professional and most helpful. I liked that I could ask additional questions and get answered in a very short turn around. Esther
  • Wonderful service, prompt, efficient, and accurate. Couldn't have asked for more. I cannot thank you enough for your help. Mary C.
 
 
 

Meet The Experts:

 
 
 
  • Steven

    Steven

    Technician

    Satisfied Customers:

    1270
    Licensed TV repair technician in the US with over 30 experience in the US.
< Previous | Next >
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/ST/steven.benoit/2011-4-1_194735_untitled1.64x64.jpg Steven's Avatar

    Steven

    Technician

    Satisfied Customers:

    1270
    Licensed TV repair technician in the US with over 30 experience in the US.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/europro/2009-7-31_232635_DSC02497.JPG euro-pro llc's Avatar

    euro-pro llc

    Technician

    Satisfied Customers:

    1069
    20 years in TV repair,certified by all major brands- Sony,Samsung, LG,Toshiba, Panasonic, RCA,
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/mistersony/2010-12-13_235638_conrad2.jpg Conrad's Avatar

    Conrad

    Technician

    Satisfied Customers:

    942
    Training on many types of consumer electronics, training on Sony Samsung and JVC
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/AL/alr3d/2012-5-3_143712_14.64x64.jpg alr3d's Avatar

    alr3d

    Technician

    Satisfied Customers:

    764
    tv repair
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/PlasmaLCDPro/2009-09-01_011602_techavatar.JPG Flatpanel Guru's Avatar

    Flatpanel Guru

    Lead Technician HD

    Satisfied Customers:

    692
    Factory Trained and Certified on PLASMA, HDTV, LCD, and Bose. Authorized Servicer, 15yrs Exp.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/frep420/2009-06-13_215917_j.jpg Jeff the TV Guy's Avatar

    Jeff the TV Guy

    Technician

    Satisfied Customers:

    691
    10 years expeience in consumer electronics. 3 years experience in DLP, Plasma, and LCD repair.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/callallen/2009-10-26_013927_100_2875.jpg Allen's Avatar

    Allen

    Technician

    Satisfied Customers:

    534
    37 years tv service with Panasonic, Hitachi ,RCA