How JustAnswer Works:
  • Ask an Expert
    Experts are full of valuable knowledge and are ready to help with any question. Credentials confirmed by a Fortune 500 verification firm.
  • Get a Professional Answer
    Via email, text message, or notification as you wait on our site. Ask follow up questions if you need to.
  • Go back-and-forth until satisfied
    Rate the answer you receive.
Ask Dr. K. Your Own Question
Dr. K.
Dr. K., Board Certified MD
Category: Dermatology
Satisfied Customers: 5053
Experience:  Board certified with experience in primary care.
65718478
Type Your Dermatology Question Here...
Dr. K. is online now

I have a rash on my legs and I want your opinion on what it

Customer Question

I have a rash on my legs and I want your opinion on what it is
Assistant: What seems to make the symptoms worse or better? Have you noticed any swelling?
Customer: No swelling and it's not raised
Assistant: Anything else in your medical history you think the doctor should know?
Customer: Water seems to make it redder
Submitted: 5 days ago.
Category: Dermatology
Customer: replied 5 days ago.
Is it possible to send a photo?
Customer: replied 5 days ago.
Itwon both
Customer: replied 5 days ago.
It is on both legs
Customer: replied 5 days ago.
Was on hydrocortisone cream 5 % and then 1%
Customer: replied 5 days ago.
Found it really helped
Customer: replied 5 days ago.
But doctorydoesnt know what it is
Expert:  Dr. K. replied 5 days ago.
Hello and welcome to Just Answer. I looking forward to assisting you with your question and providing excellent service. I do not see anything significant that looks like a rash. If the hydrocortisone helped then it is most likely contact dermatitis. An irritant from something you were exposed to. Its often impossible to identify the original trigger. You are safe to use the cortisone until it resolves. I hope this information is helpful to you. Please reply with any questions you may have. Thank you for coming to Just Answer for help.
Customer: replied 5 days ago.
It's not itchy
Expert:  Dr. K. replied 5 days ago.
The pictures are too close and dont really add much more
Customer: replied 5 days ago.
Ill
Expert:  Dr. K. replied 5 days ago.
That looks like a rash due to vasculitis. (Inflammation) or chronic venous stasis. You really need to see a dr in person. Its treated with compression stockings and the steroid cream.
Customer: replied 5 days ago.
Is it serious?
Customer: replied 5 days ago.
What could cause it?
Expert:  Dr. K. replied 5 days ago.
It can be serious. What causes it depends on whether its due to vasculitis, which may be autoimmune or venous stasis which is damage to the blood vessels. You need to see a Dr.
Customer: replied 5 days ago.
Will I need an operation?
Expert:  Dr. K. replied 5 days ago.
No not at all. You just need an accurate diagnosis. Maybe a biopsy
Customer: replied 4 days ago.
If I want to fly is it possible?
Expert:  Dr. K. replied 4 days ago.
There is no issue with flying but you should seek treatment first
Customer: replied 4 days ago.
Thank you for your help
Customer: replied 4 days ago.
I booked a dermatologist appointment today
Expert:  Dr. K. replied 4 days ago.
Great. Best of luck. Please consider a positive rating.