How JustAnswer Works:
  • Ask an Expert
    Experts are full of valuable knowledge and are ready to help with any question. Credentials confirmed by a Fortune 500 verification firm.
  • Get a Professional Answer
    Via email, text message, or notification as you wait on our site. Ask follow up questions if you need to.
  • Go back-and-forth until satisfied
    Rate the answer you receive.
Ask Dr. Arun Phophalia Your Own Question
Dr. Arun Phophalia
Dr. Arun Phophalia, Doctor (MD)
Category: Oncology
Satisfied Customers: 49209
Experience:  MBBS MS (Surgery)
5625079
Type Your Oncology Question Here...
Dr. Arun Phophalia is online now

I need a second opinion my daughter in law has had one

This answer was rated:

I need a second opinion my daughter in law has had one breast removed now has liver cancer
JA: Are you keeping a personal medical record while dealing with this?
Customer: No but i am trying to help my son
JA: Anything else in your medical history you think the doctor should know?
Customer: Yes she had her breast removed no chemo given now it’s gone to the liver and bones please is it correct to now start chemo or is it too late
Customer: replied 9 months ago.
Would appreciate very much to hear from you
Customer: replied 9 months ago.
Thank you, ***** ***** not have chemo after breast removed
Customer: replied 9 months ago.
I can’t see what help chemo will do now
Customer: replied 9 months ago.
That’s why I need your opinion, she is 43 with two little girls lost over 2 stone been sick etc

I am extremely sorry to know about the metastasis/spread in the bones and liver.

Chemotherapy, unfortunately, may not do anything significant. And there may be severe side effects affecting the quality of life.

Hormonal treatment may have a small role and lesser side effect (which you may discuss with her oncologist).

Customer: replied 9 months ago.
That is very helpful is this illness terminal

You are very welcome.

I am very sorry to say, this is terminal.

I have to give you truthful information.

Customer: replied 9 months ago.
Thank you how long could it take sorry to be so blunt but for my son I need to know

Very welcome.

The life span can be 3-12 months.

Customer: replied 9 months ago.
thank you for being so truthful I need to prepare things without showing my son anything
Customer: replied 9 months ago.
Chemo won’t do anything I fear

You are very welcome.

Chemo won't change the prognosis.

Wishing you all the very best.

" I sincerely hope that I have helped you and that I have earned my 5-star rating today! Please remember to rate my service by selecting the 5 stars at the top of the screen. Thank you!”.

Stay blessed.

Customer: replied 9 months ago.
You certainly have thank you so much it’s easier for me to cope with if I know the truth

The rating button is on the left upper side of this thread.

Thank you.

Wishing you all the very best in life.

http://ww2.justanswer.com/help/how-do-i-rate-answer-hl

Stay blessed.

Dr. Arun Phophalia and other Oncology Specialists are ready to help you